Our Mission

The mission of Green Mountain Economic Development Corporation is to foster and develop economic vitality and prosperity consistent with the goals of the communities we serve.

State’s Mission

To lead and coordinate statewide efforts to foster the growth of higher quality jobs and a strong diversified economy.  To promote and foster Vermont businesses in order to broaden capital growth, deepen employee participation, retain jobs, increase living standards for working families, and stabilize communities.

Economic Development Planning

Along with our Regional Planning Commission partners, GMEDC can assist with the sorting out of development problems, goals and initiatives.  This may include brownfields remediation, new sewer or water requirements, downtown or village designation, etc. and other assistance as needed.

GMEDC is always ready to discuss development issues with planning commissions, Selectboards and others.  Often we can provide some insight, advice and referral to other agencies.

Bob Haynes

Executive Director

Bob lives in Norwich and is a graduate of Dartmouth College.  Before he came to GMEDC, he was the director of business development at DEW Construction Corp. / MacMillan Construction.  Prior to that, he was president / principal broker at R.E. Haynes Co., Inc. in Hanover, NH.  He has worked for many years in the real estate brokerage, construction and real estate development sectors, and he is well known to many business owners, bankers, brokers, attorneys, town managers, planning commissioners and legislators throughout Vermont and New Hampshire.

Bob has been actively involved with numerous civic organizations in the Upper Valley including the Hanover Rotary Club, the Dartmouth Club of the Upper Valley, the Dartmouth Alumni Council, Upper Valley Rowing Foundation, Hanover Hockey Association, Norwich Lions Club, Community College of Vermont President’s Council and the Town of Washington, VT School Board.


Board of Directors

Joe Boyd, Chair

Monique Priestley, Vice-Chair

Ed Childs – Secretary

Russell North -Treasurer


Ken Cadow

Damian DiNicola

Lisa Henderson

Jim Masland

Pat Moulton

Joshua Powers

Steve Reid

Cathy Tempesta

Jay Zanleoni